Ticket #748 (closed Defect: worksforme)

Opened 7 years ago

Last modified 7 years ago

Question about changing WorkSpace ACL mode

Reported by: JuergeN Owned by:
Priority: Major Milestone: Release 4.5
Component: DeepaMehta Standard Distribution Version: 4.4
Keywords: Cc:
Complexity: 3 Area:
Module:

Description

Dear Jörg, I have realized that I can change the sharing mode of a workspace by editing the workspace instance. That is pretty cool as it allows for sharing content e.g. from a collaborative editing session later on in a public environment.

My question is now, what happens when I start restricting the levels again and shift from e.g. collaborative (with several people being members of my workspace) into private? What does it mean:

a) only the creator (owner) of the workspace can still access it?

b) only the person who made it private can still access it?

I think both would be valid answers. Just wanted to know what actually happens now on limiting ACLs. Can you tell me more about it?

Change History

comment:1 in reply to: ↑ description Changed 7 years ago by jri

Replying to JuergeN:

a) only the creator (owner) of the workspace can still access it?

Yes, a) is what applies.

Currently the Webclient provides no means to change the owner of things.
Changing a thing does not change its owner.

A hint: when a private workspace has Memberships other than the owner these are ignored.
For a private workspace only its owner is relevant.
(So you could even switch between e.g. collaborative and private many times while the set of Memberships -- the collaborating people -- remains intact.)

So, although changing a workspace's Sharing Mode after the fact is not yet explicitly supported, all things should already work as expected.

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by jri

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to worksforme
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.